Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Meet the front row for the Indianapolis 500

One thing in common about the drivers who will start in the front row for the Indianapolis 500: None has ever won the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.
Pole-sitter Ryan Briscoe has six IZOD IndyCar Series victories on his resume. James Hinchcliffe, who'll start in the middle, is looking for his first IndyCar checkered flag.
Briscoe, an Australian who drives for Team Penske, finished fifth in the 2007 Indy 500.  Briscoe's No. 2 car gave team owner Roger Penske the 17th Indy 500 pole of Penske's career.
Hinchcliffe, who like the other front-row-drivers is powered by a Chevrolet motor, will be driving in his second Indy 500. The Toronto native is third in points in the IndyCar Series. He drives the No. 27 car.
Ryan Hunter-Reay, whose No. 28 car will start on the outside of the front row, hails from Fort Lauderdale, Fla. He has three career victories and is fourth in the 2012 driver standings. Hinchcliffe and Hunter-Reay drive for Andretti Autosport, whose owner is Michael Andretti.
Briscoe is seventh in driver points.
In the photo above, Hunter-Reay is at left, Hinchcliffe in the middle and Briscoe at right.

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home