Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Detroit's McCallum named to All-Jesuit hoops team

Sophomore guard Ray McCallum was named to the 2011-2012 National All-Jesuit Men’s Basketball Team, as announced by the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities and the Jesuit Basketball Spotlight.  McCallum is one of 10 honorees among 28 Jesuit schools nationwide across all levels (NCAA I, II, III and NAIA).

McCallum, the Horizon League Tournament Most Valuable Player, helped lead the Titans to the league crown and their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1999.  The former Detroit Country Day player led the squad in scoring (15.4 ppg), assists (4.0 apg) and steals (1.6 spg) for the second straight season.  He was an All-Horizon League First Team selection in addition to a National Basketball Coaches Association All-District First Team choice, Bob Cousy Award Top 20 selection and Lou Henson All-America Team member after a superb season that saw him become the 37th Titan to surpass 1,000 career points and the first to do it as a sophomore.  

He's joined on the All-Jesuit Team by Consensus First-Team All-American Doug McDermott of Creighton.  McDermott, a Wooden Award finalist and the Missouri Valley Player of the Year, and Marquette's Darius  Johnson-Odom, a first-team All-Big East selection, earn All-Jesuit honors for the second straight year.

Fellow MU teammate Jae Crowder, the Big East Player of the Year made the squad while two other players-- Xavier's Tu Holloway and Gonzaga's Elias Harris, have previously earned All-Jesuit honors.  They are joined on the All-Jesuit team by Steve Catich, who led Wheeling Jesuit to the NCAA Division II Tournament; Jason Clark, Georgetown’s leader as it remained among the top teams in DI; Rakim Sanders who led Fairfield to the CIT Postseason Tourney semifinals and Corey Shontz, an NCAA Division III All-America honoree from John Carroll. All 10 players earned first-team all-conference honors.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home