Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Michigan State was Big Ten's last national basketball champion

Michigan State won the national college basketball championship in 2000. Since then, no Big Ten team has captured a title.
Ohio State got to the Final Four this year, but the Buckeyes, who haven't won a national championship since 1960, lost to Kansas in the semifinal round.
Since MSU beat Florida at Indianapolis for the 2000 championship, Atlantic Coast Conference teams have won five championships. The Big East and Southeastern conferences have won three apiece and the Big 12 one.
The Big Ten's six national championships since Ohio State's were won by three schools: Indiana, Michigan and Michigan State.
IU won in 1976, 1981 and 1987; Michigan in 1989 and MSU in 1979 and 2000.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home