Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Who's best in the post-Wooden era?

Kentucky won its eighth national basketball championship when the Wildcats defeated Kansas on Monday.
Four of the Wildcats' titles have been won since 1978, or in the "post-Wooden" era of college basketball.
Coach John Wooden's UCLA teams won 10 championships in 12 seasons in a dynasty that ended with the Bruins' 1975 title.
In addition to Kentucky, Duke and North Carolina have won four championships apiece since the UCLA dynasty ended, creating a three-way tie for the top spot in our study.
Connecticut and Indiana have won three titles each, and Florida, Kansas, Louisville and Michigan State have captured two apiece.
Those schools are among the 20 that have won titles since 1976.
In the post-Wooden era, 23 schools have lost in the championship game, led by Duke, which has fallen five times.
Michigan and Kansas have three title-game losses apiece.
The Blue Devils, Wolverines and Jayhawks are among nine schools that have lost more than one championship game since 1976.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home