Thursday, October 18, 2012

Max Scherzer, Justin Verlander add names to special list of Detroit Tigers pitchers

Denny McLain is not on the list. Nor is Jack Morris.
The Detroit Tigers have won 10 post-season series, including their sweep of the New York Yankees in the 2012 American League Championship Series.

Ten different men were the winning pitchers of the Tigers' 10 series-clinching victories.
Tommy Bridges was the first.
Bridges was the winning pitcher in Game 6 of the 1935 World Series, when the Tigers won their first world championship by taking out the Chicago Cubs four games to two.
The others: Hal Newhouser, Mickey Lolich, Milt Wilcox, Aurelio Lopez, Jeremy Bonderman, Wil Ledezma, Doug Fister, Justin Verlander and Max Scherzer.
Verlander was the winning pitcher in the Tigers' series-clinching win over Oakland in the division playoffs.
Scherzer was the winner of Game 4 against the Yankees.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home