Thursday, October 18, 2012

Jim Leyland third manager to win more than one pennant with Detroit Tigers

Jim Leyland became the third Detroit Tigers manager to win more than one American League pennant with the team.
Leyland's team swept the New York Yankees in the best-of-seven ALCS to capture the 2012 pennant. The Tigers also won the 2006 pennant under Leyland.
Hughie Jennings managed the Tigers to pennants in 1907, 1908 and 1909.
Mickey Cochrane was the manager of pennant-winning clubs in 1934 and 1935.
Jennings' teams did not win a World Series.
Cochrane's 1934 club lost to the St. Louis Cardinals in the Fall Classic, and his 1935 team beat the Chicago Cubs for Detroit's first World Series title.
Leyland and Jennings are the only managers to take the Tigers to the post-season three times.
Detroit's other pennant-winning managers: Del Baker (1940), Steve O'Neill (1945), Mayo Smith (1968) and Sparky Anderson (1984).

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home