Friday, August 17, 2012

Roush Fenway Racing tries to break MIS 'skid'

BROOKLYN, Mich. -- Drivers from Roush Fenway Racing won five of nine NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Michigan International Speedway in a stretch that ended with Carl Edwards taking the checkered flag in August 2008.
Matt Kenseth
Since then, the team built by Livonia industrialist Jack Roush is in a dry spell in the Irish Hills.
RFR has not won in the last seven races at MIS.
Is that a source of consternation for the team of Ford drivers?
"Not necessarily for me, but maybe for Jack because it is close to Livonia where he has done all his work and Roush Industries and Ford and all that," Matt Kenseth said Friday. "For me, it isn't any more or less than any other good track that we go to. It has been one of our better tracks through the years, so whenever you go to the tracks that you perform better at than others, you want to try to take advantage of that."
Kenseth, who drives the No. 17, has won twice at MIS, most recently in August 2006.
Edwards, driver of the No. 99, achieved his first MIS victory in June 2007.
He said the 2011 repaving of the track might make an already competitive track a more difficult place to get an edge.
"Before, it seemed like when the track was rough and worn out that guys that could hang the cars out a little, like Greg Biffle or guys with big horsepower, and run really well," Edwards, who qualified second, said.
"I can tell you this: When we are in Victory Lane, of all the ones I have been in, I have never seen Jack happier than the one here at Michigan."
Kenseth qualified fourth. Greg Biffle, the other Roush Fenway driver, qualified 13th in the No. 16.
MIS race winners since the last Roush Fenway triumph: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin (twice), Kevin Harvick, Brian Vickers and Mark Martin.

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home